Black’s guide books, 1912
Renvyle House gets a lovely mention in Black's Guide:Books 'IRELAND' in 1912.
Black’s guide books, 1912
(Excerpt taken from chapter: CLIFDEN TO WESTPORT, pages 224 – 225)
A most enjoyable road of 5 miles goes from Letterfrack northwards by Ballynakill Harbour and Tully crossroads to Renvyle. The coast scenery about and beyond the coastguard station is magnificent. The sea is studded with islands and rocks of all sorts and sizes; straight ahead is the lofty hill on Clare Island, with Inishturk and many another “Inis” to the left; far behind them in the distance Croaghaun and Slievemore lift their shapely summits in Achill Island; while, to the right, Mweelrea, the aged sentinel of Killery Harbour, rises over Salruck.
Mrs. Blake’s Hotel, Renvyle House (£3 per week), is most homely and comfortable, besides being unique; for its walls, within, retain their unique elm and oak wainscoting, and it lies snugly embowered as some old English “grange”. The hostess’s family bought the property in 1680, some time after Cromwell had confiscated their ancient home. (See The Blake Records published by Elliot Stock.) There is a famous library with many seventeenth and eighteenth century books, including a first edition of Raleigh’s History of the World. There is brown trout fishing and also sea-fishing free except for boat. There is a golf course and some mixed shooting, and the easel of the marine artist is often to be seen on the shore. With all these attractions it is small wonder that Renvyle is popular.
The hotel stands on Lough Renvyle (fresh water), close to the sea, and from Renvyle Hill (1572 feet) there is a splendid view over the Atlantic and the many islands along the coast, as far north as the Clare Island in Clew Bay and the distant hills of Achill. About a mile from the hotel are the ruins of Renvyle Castle, with old church and well.
A frequent excursion from Letterfrack or from Renvyle is to SALRUCK. Through Tully Cross Roads, 3 miles north of Letterfrack, continue along the pleasant coast-road to the slated house on Lough Muck (cyclists can leave their machines here). From this a roughish track turns sharply left and makes a steep decent to Salruck, a beautiful wooded spot on a wild bit of coast. There is a curious graveyard here where the graves are covered with stones and adorned with clay pipes, a fact which has led some superficial observers to conclude that the natives made votive offerings to the dead. As a matter of fact at the “wakes” pipes are handed round, and afterwards collected and placed on the graves.